Friday 16 June, 2017
STOKE entertain the Mildenhall Fen Tigers in the KO Cup Quarter Final first leg at Loomer Road on Saturday night (7pm) looking to take a good lead down to Suffolk for the second leg.

The A.R. Richards Potters beat Buxton a fortnight ago and will be looking to forge a good lead to take down to West Row against a powerful Mildenhall side that isw currently fifth in the Travel Plus National League table having lost only one meeting this season and that was at the National Speedway Stadium against Belle Vue where they lost heavily.

The Fen Tigers have Connor Mountain leading them who has stepped up this season taking over the number one race jacket and also doubling up in the Championship with Ipswich with back up being provided by former Potters skipper Jon Armstrong and youngster Jordan Jenkins who is making good strides in the league this season with Luke Ruddick and former National League Riders Champion Daniel Halsey completing the top five. Lewis Whitmore and Danno Verge complete the Tigers septet.

The Potters will again use rider replacement for injured skipper Tony Atkin while Alex Spooner comes in as a guest for the retired David Speight. Potters promoter Dave Tattum commented “We are working hard behind the scenes to bring somebody in to replace David (Speight) and will continue to do so, but we are not a club that is going to name riders we have spoken to, but we can assure our supporters we are doing our best to get the position filled.”

Potters team said Malcolm Vasey commented “We will need to be at our very best to take a lead down to West Row for the second leg. They are a very good team and their league record shows that, but we are also a very capable team also and have not had the run of luck that on occasions I felt we have deserved and we have also given away some silly points and on Saturday we need to make sure we do not do that.”

STOKE: Mitchell Davey, Tony Atkin Rider Replacement, Ryan Terry-Daley, David Wallinger, Luke Priest, Alex Spooner, Shaun Tedham
MILDENHALL: Connor Mountain, Luke Ruddick, Jon Armstrong, Jordan Jenkins, Daniel Halsey, Lewis Whitmore, Danno Verge